EN

DE

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

*   *   *

 

ABOUT US

 

*   *   *

 

TEAM

 

HISTORY

 

PARTNERS

 

 

Our History

Moved from once to today

 

 

1670 to 1938

 

Around 1670, a country estate for noble urban families was built on the Waid, including a manor house, barn and garden, wells and farmland. In 1828, the Waid was first used as a restaurant, since 1835 with the so-called Speisepatent. During reconstruction work, a healing spring was discovered and a health resort was built next to the well-attended inn. In 1908, the city of Zurich acquired most of the property. The old Waidgut was converted into a municipal hospital. In 1878, the inn had been moved to the edge of the forest to its present location. In 1921, those in charge transformed the business into a non-alcoholic summer inn and, five years later, into the "Waidberg" restaurant. Up to this time the Waid had known twelve innkeepers.

 

 

1939

 

A large crowd of visitors was expected at the national exhibition in 1939 on the Waidberg (Zurich's most famous vantage point). Therefore, the old restaurant Waid, a tavern and still on Wipkingen ground, was demolished and rebuilt to the right of it and consequently becoming part of Höngg. It opened on 5 May 1939 - one day before the official opening of the national exhibition "Landi 39".

 

 

1939 to 2003

 

From 5 May 1939 to 1947, Mrs. Schellenberg was the host at the Waid, followed by Karl Grau from 1948 to 1972 and Alex Meier in the years 1973 to 2003. In this time there was a comprehensive reconstruction with a large window front, new main entrance, kitchen, storage and cellar rooms, realized within only five months in late 1979 and early 1980.

In 1980, after the completion of this first major renovation after forty years, the restaurant was renamed Neue Waid. Mr. Meier retired at the end of 2003 after thirty successful years in the restaurant.

 

 

2004

 

Since 1 January 2004, Thomas and Susanne Hofstetter have been tenants of the property owned by the City of Zurich. Within just three months from January to mid-April 2004, the Restaurant Neue Waid was renovated by star architect Pia Schmid and subjected to a comprehensive facelift, which matched the two concepts of Jahreszeiten Restaurant and WOK Beiz. On 22 April 2004, the restaurant was reopened under the new name of Die WAID.

 

 

08/09 June 2004

 

In the night from 8 to 9 June 2004, the WAID restaurant fell victim to a devastating fire and had to be completely rebuilt.

 

 

July 2004 to May 2005

 

In the time of the reconstruction after the fire, a fully functional tent restaurant with the name "Profisorium" was erected in the chestnut garden, so that the guests could still be served on the Waidberg. During the ten months in the tent, the two concepts of seasonal kitchen and WAID wok were offered - although on a slightly smaller scale - which the tent guests liked very much. There were even tears when the "Profisorium" had to be taken down at the end of May 2005.

 

 

from July 2005

 

On 7 July 2005, the restaurant was reopened only 399 days after the fire. Various parts had been redesigned in a modern way. Since then, the two culinary concepts "Seasons - Kitchen" and "WAID - Wok" have shaped the ambiance on the most beautiful vantage point in the city of Zurich.

 

 

 

 

 

Restaurant DIE WAID

Waidbadstreet 45

8037 Zurich

Fon +41 43 422 08 08

Fax +41 43 422 08 09

info@diewaid.ch

Partner-Restaurant

 

© dieWaid • realisation: objektiva.ch

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

*   *   *

 

ABOUT US

 

*   *   *

 

TEAM

 

HISTORY

 

PARTNERS

EN

DE

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

*   *   *

 

ÜBER UNS

 

*   *   *

 

TEAM

 

GESCHICHTE

 

JOBS

 

PARTNER

 

 

Geschichte

Bewegt von einst bis heute

 

 

von 1670 bis 1938

 

Um 1670 wurde auf der Waid ein Landsitz für vornehme städtische Familien errichtet, mit Herrenhaus, Scheune und Garten, Brunnen, Matt- und Ackerland. Ab 1828 wurde auf der Waid gewirtet, ab 1835 mit dem sogenannten Speisepatent. Bei Umbauarbeiten wurde eine Heilquelle entdeckt und so entstand neben der gut besuchten Wirtschaft eine Kuranstalt. 1908 erwarb die Stadt Zürich den grössten Teil des Anwesens. Das alte Waidgut wurde zum städtischen Krankenheim umgebaut. 1878 wurde der Gastwirtschaftsbetrieb an den Waldrand bzw. den heutigen Standort verlegt. 1921 wandelten die Verantwortlichen den Betrieb in eine alkoholfreie Sommerwirtschaft und 1926 in das Speiserestaurant «Waidberg» um. Bis zu diesem Zeitpunkt kannte die Waid zwölf Wirte und Wirtinnen.

 

 

1939

 

Zur Landesausstellung 1939 wurde auf dem Waidberg (als berühmtester Aussichtspunkt Zürichs) ein grosser Besucheransturm erwartet. Das alte Restaurant Waid, eine Schenke und noch auf Wipkinger Boden, wurde abgebrochen und rechts davon auf Höngger Boden mit Blick Richtung Stadt das Restaurant zur Waid neu errichtet und am 5. Mai 1939 eröffnet. Einen Tag vor der offiziellen Eröffnung der Landesausstellung «Landi 39».

 

 

1939 bis 2003

 

Ab 5. Mai 1939 bis 1947 wirtete Frau Schellenberg , ab 1948 bis 1972 Herr Karl Grau und ab 1973 bis 2003 Herr Alex Meier im Restaurant Zur Waid. In dieser Zeit gab es einen umfassenden Umbau mit einer grossen Fensterfront, neuem Haupteingang, Küche, Lager und Kellerräumen, der innerhalb von fünf Monaten Ende 1979 und Anfang 1980 realisiert wurde.

1980, nach Abschluss dieses ersten richtigen grossen Umbaus nach vierzig Jahren, wurde das Restaurant in Neue Waid umgetauft. Herr Meier trat Ende 2003 nach dreissig erfolgreichen Wirtejahren in den wohlverdienten Ruhestand.

 

 

2004

 

Seit 1. Januar 2004 sind Thomas und Susanne Hofstetter Pächter der Liegenschaft, die der Stadt Zürich gehört. Das Restaurant Neue Waid wurde innerhalb von nur drei Monaten von Januar bis Mitte April 2004 durch die Stararchitektin Pia Schmid umgebaut und einem umfassenden Facelifting unterzogen, das zu den zwei Konzepten Jahreszeiten Restaurant und WOK Beiz passte. Am 22. April 2004 wurde das Restaurant unter dem neuen Namen die WAID wiedereröffnet.

 

 

08./09. Juni 2004

 

In der Nacht vom 8. zum 9. Juni 2004 ist das Restaurant die WAID einem verheerenden Brand zum Opfer gefallen und musste komplett neu aufgebaut werden.

 

 

Juli 2004 bis Mai 2005

 

In der Zeit des Wiederaufbaus der Brandruine wurde im Kastaniengarten ein voll funktionsfähiges Zeltrestaurant mit dem Namen «Profisorium» errichtet, damit die Gäste weiterhin auf dem Waidberg bewirtet werden konnten. Während der zehn Monate im Zelt wurden – wenn auch in etwas kleinerem Rahmen – die zwei Konzepte Jahreszeiten-Küche und WAID-Wok angeboten, was den Zeltgästen sehr gefiel. Es gab sogar Tränen, als das «Profisorium» Ende Mai 2005 abgebrochen werden musste.

 

 

ab Juli 2005

 

Am 7. Juli 2005 wurde das Restaurant nur 399 Tage nach dem Brand wiedereröffnet. Verschiedene Teile waren auf moderne Weise neu gestaltet worden. Die zwei kulinarischen Konzepte Jahreszeiten-Küche und WAID-Wok prägen seitdem die Ambiance auf dem schönsten Aussichtspunkt der Stadt Zürich.

 

 

 

 

 

Restaurant DIE WAID

Waidbadstrasse 45

8037 Zürich

Fon +41 43 422 08 08

Fax +41 43 422 08 09

info@diewaid.ch

Partner-Restaurant

 

© dieWaid • realisation: objektiva.ch